33w5d

after feeling pretty damn amazing for being just over 8 months pregnant this week revealed things can certainly change quickly.

friday night i woke up at 1:30am to a pretty strong BH contraction. no biggie, i’ve had them since 15 weeks so they’re not something i tend to freak out over since they are never consistent and really are just more annoying than anything else. But from 1:30-2:30 they came every 10 minutes. (thank you i.phone application icontraction) then from 2:30-6:00am they were more like every 5-7 minutes. weird. i called L&D at about 2:45 to say this is different than anything i’ve experienced before. They said to call back if the contractions got down to 5 minutes apart or less and stayed that way for an hour or more. I laid back down and kept track for the next few hours, they just kept coming but stayed above 5 minutes the entire time. I finally called back at about 5:45am to say that they haven’t dropped below five minutes but they are still very consistent and all the water i’m drinking and lying on my side doesn’t seem to be doing squat. Also, I’m only 33 weeks so if I was going into labor I would still need steroid shots to help the babies lungs out. I was so worried by the time I’d get to the hospital it would be too late. The doc said, well why don’t you come in at 7am (since shift change was about to happen which would mean i’d most likely be waiting for quite a while to get seen.) I laid back down at 6am to try to get some rest until 7 and next thing i knew it was 9am.
When I woke up the contractions were gone for the most part, and if i did have any they were back to their inconsistent norm. I decided to just take it easy, eat some breakfast and see how the morning went before I went in. I met a dear friend for coffee half a block from the house and as soon as I sat down i just lost it. I think it was a combo of exhaustion from being up all night, fear that these babies were going to come early and not be ok, and hell, extreme fear that these babies were going to come and i won’t know what to do with them. i think i finally realized how imminent this all is and it scared the pants off me. Don’t get me wrong, after so long in this journey all I want is to meet these little people and to know they are ok. but that doesn’t mean i don’t still shake from the idea of knowing that I don’t know anything about babies or being a mom and my world is about to change oh so dramatically. I know we’ll be ok, we’ll figure it out, we want this more than anything, but it’s still a big transition.

anyway, with one look at me my friend said, “i’m pulling the car around and we’re going to L&D”, j was off on a run for work and wasn’t available so I hopped in the car and away we went. At L&D the babies and I were hooked up to the monitor and they looked just wonderful. Moving a ton and good strong heartbeats, my contractions were still willy nilly and showing up.

They checked my cervix and found that I was 50% effaced, no dilation though which was great to know. And apparently I was 50% effaced at my appointment on wednesday though no one thought to mention that to me. So after a few hours and no change in my cervix I was released and came home. The next two days I was over the top exhausted. I couldn’t do much more than sleep and eat.

It’s been two days since then and I feel much better. my energy has returned a bit but i’m vastly more uncomfortable. a few weeks ago i would have said i thought i’d make it all the way to 38 weeks, but now, well, i ain’t so sure. i feel like i’ll be lucky if i make it past friday. PLEASE let me make it past friday!!

now excuse me while i attempt to dislodge a baby head from under my right ribcage so i can finish my workday.

6 Responses to “33w5d”

  1. EB Says:

    sending you tons of hugs and baby stay put vibes. I was breathless reading your post. so glad it all turned out ok. I wish you lots of rest and stress free weeks till the little ones arrive.

  2. Summer Says:

    So glad things turned out ok and good for your friend for getting you over to L&D!

    Hope your little ones will stay in a bit longer.

  3. Shinejil Says:

    I think it’s totally and absolutely normal to get snowed by a blast of fear at the thought of the momentous task ahead of you. It’s a really big deal, and to add premie twins to the mix just makes it more daunting. Even if it’s something you’ve longed for for a really long time. It’s still scary; I know I’m scared.

    But you’ll do it. We women are made to do these things, and do them quite well. šŸ™‚ Good for you to get some support from a friend!

    So glad the little ones are still determined to hang out for a few more weeks. I hope you don’t have any more scares like this one, and the rest of your pregnancy is smooth as silk!

  4. AshPash Says:

    What a scary night you had. It must have been such a relief to have the ultrasound and monitoring. Hang in there a few more weeks babies!

  5. Stacey Says:

    Here’s to hoping you make it wayyyy past Friday. šŸ™‚ Things get crazy fast, but hang in there!! It will alll be worth it. But you already know that of course! I’ve been silent, but I am still checking in on you all the time and hoping for the best. Your in my thoughts. šŸ™‚

  6. mekate Says:

    Holy crap t,
    sweetie! So, whoa, that sounds like a lot to handle in every way.
    That horrible moment of being overwhelmed, I am so glad you were with a good friend, and so glad you got to go get some bonafide reassurance–

    And I am not sure any transitions in life are as big as the one you are on the cusp of. I freak out every once in a while at the IDEA of baby(ies), so I totally get it as much as I can not being in your shoes.
    I’ll be praying that you all get to hang out together for a whole month, with as much of that as possible being comfortable and uneventful.
    Thinking of you and sending love,
    Kate

Leave a Reply

